Promenade des Anglais
Starting in the second half of the 18th century, the English aristocracy took to spending the winter in Nice, enjoying the panorama along the coast. In 1820, when a particularly harsh winter further north brought an influx of beggars to Nice, some of the English proposed that they could work on the construction of a walkway (chemin de promenade) along the sea. It was funded by the Reverend Lewis Way and members of Holy Trinity Anglican Church.
The city of Nice, intrigued by the prospect of a pleasant promenade, greatly increased the scope of the work. The Promenade was first called the Camin deis Anglés (the English Way) by the Niçois in their native dialect. After the annexation of Nice by France in 1860 it was rechristened La Promenade des Anglais.
For the local inhabitants, the Promenade des Anglais has simply become the Promenade or, for short, La Prom. It is popular with bicyclists, baby strollers, and families, especially on Sundays. It has also become a favorite place for skateboarders and in-line skaters.
On July 14, 2016, a truck was deliberately driven at revellers celebrating Bastille Day on the Promenade. The driver, 31-year-old Mohamed Lahouaiej-Bouhlel, also shot at others before crossing the road in the vehicle to continue the assault. The vehicle was surrounded by police near the Palais de la Méditerranée, and Bouhlel was shot dead. 86 people were killed, and 450 were wounded. The perpetrator worked for ISIS.
Museum of Asian Arts
Mont Baron (Elton John’s house is bottom right)
REFERENCE: Google Earth